French Open tennis player Mio Kato lost her prize and points ranking in the women’s doubles of 21,500 euros (about $23,000) because the girl was accidentally hit with the ball. Allowed to continue participating in mixed doubles.
Kato’s women’s doubles partner, Aldila Sutjiadi of Indonesia, took her silver and points to reach the third round of this competition.
Roland Garros referee Remy Azmar penalty shootout. Azmar determined that the ball kid was injured unintentionally and allowed Kato to continue in the mixed doubles with Tim Putz; They are scheduled to play the semi-finals on Thursday.
In the third round of the women’s doubles on Sunday, Kato swung her racket and the ball went towards the ball player who was not looking in the Japanese player’s direction as she left the court.
At first, Chief Justice Alexander Gouge issued a warning to Cato. But after Azmar and Grand Slam supervisor Wayne McQueen headed to Court 14 to check what happened, Kato and Sotjiadi abandoned the match.
This made Marie Bouzkova of the Czech Republic and Sara Sorribes Tormo of Spain the winners.
“Extreme TV Passionate. Sassy Foodie. Typical Beer Maven. Friendly Internet Geek.”